Flight suspensions following nations cutting diplomatic ties with Qatar

Travel News 29 Jun 2017

As of 6 June, the seven nations of Bahrain, Egypt, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates (UAE), The Maldives, Yemen and Libya have suspended all diplomatic ties with Qatar due to what they claim is the country's ongoing support of terrorism.

In all cases, these seven nations have advised:

  • Qatari diplomats have 48 hours to leave
  • Qatari citizens in each of these countries have 14 days to leave and return to Qatar
  • All air and sea ports as well as land borders between Qatar and these seven nations are closed which means that all flights are suspended from today and until further notice
  • Qatar Airways (QR) is restricted from the seven nations' airspace until further notice
  • Airspace over Qatar is not closed


Flight suspensions overview


There have been a number of flight suspensions as a result. All the affected airlines are offering refunds or re-accommodation to another port for customers who are booked to fly between Qatar and one of these countries.

Qatar Airways suspends flights to Kingdom Of Saudi Arabia, UAE, Egypt and Kingdom Of Bahrain


Qatar Airways has suspended all flights to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia until further notice. Additionally the airline has suspended all flights to the UAE, Kingdom of Bahrain and Egypt from 00:00 UTC 6 June (03:00 Doha time, 6 June) until further notice.  All customers booked on affected flights will be provided with alternative options, including the option of a full refund on any unused tickets and free rebooking to the nearest alternative Qatar Airways network destination.


Emirates, Etihad, flydubai and Air Arabia Are Suspending Flights to and from Qatar


UAE airlines is suspending flights to Doha from Tuesday 00:00 UTC 6 June after five Arab states, including the UAE, severed diplomatic as well as land, air and sea ties with Qatar. The Abu Dhabi airport also will not receive Qatar Airways flights from Tuesday. Additionally Saudi Arabia on Tuesday 6 June will close its airspace to Qatari commercial, state and business flights, according to Saudi Arabia’s General Authority for Civil Aviation. Any airlines wishing to fly across the Kingdom’s airspace from Qatar will need to seek permission from the authority and have one week to do so. Etihad, Emirates, flydubai and Air Arabia have all suspended flights to Doha from the UAE starting on Tuesday.


More information for travellers


For detailed advice please refer to your airline's website:


If you have been impacted and need support please contact your FCM travel manager.