Taiwan eases Visa rules for Asian visitors

Travel News 01 May 2017

Taiwan is easing visa restrictions for a number of Asian countries, in a bid to boost regional trade and tourism.

The island’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs revealed that, effective 1 June 2017, citizens of the Philippines will be offered visa-free stays of up to 30 days on a one-year trial basis. The visa-waiver for visitors from Thailand and Brunei will also be extended for a further 12 months, following its introduction in August 2016.

In addition, multiple-entry visas will be offered to the citizens of six more Asian countries: India, Indonesia, Vietnam, Myanmar, Cambodia and Laos.

“The adjustments are being made following consultations with other ministries as part of an effort to implement the new policy,” the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a statement.

“They are intended to attract nationals from Southeast and South Asian countries to Taiwan for tourism or business purposes, as well as to broaden and deepen Taiwan’s interactions, exchanges, and cooperation with these nations at all levels.”